Home > PLN, Social Networking > 5 Reasons Why You Need To Schedule Tweets

5 Reasons Why You Need To Schedule Tweets

You maybe thinking, “Why in the world would I need to schedule tweets?” Someone told me, “Twitter wasn’t deep enough for all of that.” Maybe it isn’t, but once you jump into the wave of PLN’s (personal learning networks) and all of the conversations happening on the Internet, it becomes a World Wide Web discussion with different tweet patterns and time zones.

Social Media: PLN 7.3

Twitter operates on a community model. Think about it. Don’t you use social media around your availability and the stuff that happens throughout the day? Scheduling tweets allows me to make sure others see my content on their schedule rather than when it’s convenient for me to post information live. Scheduling creates flexibility to schedule the same or similar tweets more than once for increased visibility. Here are a few ideas for how to best use scheduled tweets:

Reason 1: Eliminate forgetting to tweet. If you you’re into #followfriday, #teachertuesday, or some other hash tag, schedule them when you think of it throughout the week. You’ll eliminate forgetting about it or missing the opportunity because something came up after you ran out in a hurry to do your Friday banking.

Reason 2: Tweet on “their” schedule. Have you logged on and realized that others mentioned you in tweets several hours earlier? Schedule your reply around the time of day they tweeted you. Of course you want to have real time conversations whenever possible. So, check their profile to see if they are tweeting live at the moment, if not online, schedule your reply comment. It’s not an exact science, but it works.

(Keep in mind others may also schedule their tweets or they’ve stepped away if they don’t respond within minutes of your reply.)

Reason 3: Free up time for live chatting. If joining Twitter hash tag conversations is your thing, the amount of incoming tweets can upload the search grid so fast that just following the thread takes up all your energy. A remedy is to schedule well thought out comments [including hash tags] so that you can focus on a few tweets while the continuity of your update thread remains fluid in the discussion.

Reason 4:
Make yourself visible in other time zone rush hours. Twitter users from the opposite end of the country or on the other side of the world may never see your live tweets if they only watch their home feeds to follow what you’re saying on Twitter. This is a good time to schedule content links, Re-Tweets, and Replies.

Reason 5: Spread out your non-reply links. The majority of my tweets were links to great blogs, web stories, and websites when I started K12Live: Teachers using Twitter. That kind of tweeting gives your profile the appearance you aren’t socializing with other people. And although you maybe producing fantastic content people like to connect with people for social reasons. Think of it as personal learning networks that interact on a human level. Although you maybe tweeting fantastic content – produce a profile image that actually looks like you’re having real conversations.

Stay focused. Stay confident and schedule in success.

Your Best Year Teaching: If you have been inspired from this article please consider leaving a comment and subscribing to the RSS feed (top right column) to have future post delivered to your feed reader. Please send your friends to http://laroncarter.com to connect with me or @laroncarter on Twitter.

  1. May 18, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I totally agree, especially with the last point. I’ve got a lot of links that I like to share, but I really would like to be spacing them out during times of the day that I’m not inclined to tweet quite as much. To be honest, I’d probably schedule tweets a lot more if TweetDeck had a feature which allowed it. It’s too bad that I have to use a second service to do it.

    • May 18, 2010 at 10:29 am

      Hey @supermoonman, I see what you mean. Wasn’t aware that Tweetdeck didn’t offer scheduling :'[ Haven’t been able to download a working Adobe AIR for my older Mac. So I’ve been using social media client Hootsuite and couldn’t be more happier with its performance [including the schedule feature]. I’ve also been running a social networking series and telling the story from my Hootsuiite perspective. Compare some of these post to your Tweetdeck experience and let me know what time it is?

  2. May 18, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Yeah, I’ve considered switching to HootSuite in the past. I just can’t bring myself to do it; I feel really attached to TweetDeck. I really like a lot of its features, and I’m a big fan of its syncing to multiple computers and my iPhone. Hootsuite’s abilities to track statistics and schedule tweets make it really tempting, I’m just not sure I can go through with the switch.

    • May 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

      Don’t look at it as a switch. See it as diversifying you toolbox. You’ll still have multiple platform flexibility for Facebook, Linkedin, Ping, WordPress, Blogger, etc. And there’s no need for the downloading application when jumping onto someone else’s computer, just log-in [that’s worth it alone]. I also hear a lot of buzz on Twitter about Hootsuite being the multiple social media client of choice for the iPhone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

