Home > Life Observations, LiLTweeks, Weekend Post > LiLTweeks: Have your status updates gone uncommented?

LiLTweeks: Have your status updates gone uncommented?


The lesson I learned this week [LiLTweeks] came about after realizing my Facebook account’s privacy setting preference for personal information and posts was custom set to [be seen by] “Only Me” for over three months. The setting change happened shortly after Facebook made those privacy control changes for user posts on its platform. I continuously posted links to great online content, funny quotes, inspirational messages, and labor intense notes the whole time. Week after week numerous news updates without one comment response.

Technical difficulties are correctable.

You’ve heard of the term technical difficulties right? There are quite a few book titles on the subject. Facebook friend and The Bond Institute’s Audacity Expert and life coach Tonoa Bond (@tonoabond) even offers her thoughts on the idea in a free eBook. But what I discovered is that my Facebook technical difficulties were an extension of a much bigger life issue.

Do you know someone like this?

From lacking clearly defined goals, to depression, to self-sabotage, there are many reasons for not living your dreams. But this LiLTweek is focused on the “Only Me” button. Perhaps you know someone that feels like no matter how hard they try they just aren’t able to produce positive results. Maybe they feel like nobody out there cares about them or what they have to say. Have you ever felt alone in a room full of people?

Don’t worry about everyone else.

Facebook friend and @websuccessdiva Maria Reyes McDavis and I were discussing her inspirational Proverbs 31 Project (scheduled to launch June 1, 2010). And she mentioned, “I just speak out what I need to hear myself sometimes. . .” Reminds me of a pastor preaching, “Don’t worry about whose not here in church hearing this message. The lesson is for you and me to learn, right here, right now.”

Breathe. Relax. Re-focus on the solution.

Investigating my Facebook problem revealed a solution. And I repeatedly changed the preference every few weeks or so. Mysteriously the preference changed back like a default to “Only Me.” I’m not sure what that was all about, but the bigger lesson learned is that if the only me button is activated in your life there won’t be any connections, comments, or relations, let alone friends. Socially speaking if you feel me.

LiLTweeks (Lessons I Learned This Week) is a weekly observation of some problems I’ve encountered and possible actions for resolve. If you have been inspired from this article please leave a comment and consider subscribing to the RSS (top right column) to have future post delivered to your feed reader [look for Weekend Post].

  1. May 9, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Hi LaRon — I love the concept of LilTweeks. Sometimes a little tweak is all that needs to happen in our lives to get us back on track and on the road to living our dreams! Looking forward to more! ~ Tonoa

    • May 11, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      So true Tonoa, I remember one of the most inspirational sermon’s preached about every city around the world has a radio station broadcast for its nearby airport. Reporting the weather, flights, and emergency updates, but if the dial is slightly off frequency or the call number isn’t known we’d never receive the reception. Funny how that parallels with solving life’s problems.

  2. May 9, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    What a wonderful way to view technical difficulties, LaRon. You’ve truly captured how one very simple setting on Facebook and more importantly, in life, can impact perspective, perception and results. Love your view of the world!! HUGS! WendyY

    • May 10, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Hugs you back Ms. WendyY. You are one in my personal learning network that sets the bar for me and many others striving to impact the world. I’m extremely grateful to be an this journey with you, Dear Aquarian Sister.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

