Home > Goal Setting Basics, Purpose Teaching, Stressed Out K-12 > Purpose Teaching | Specific Goals

Purpose Teaching | Specific Goals

Photo Credit by Shoofly1

Photo Credit by Shoofly1

“Education is too important to be left solely to the educators.” Francis Keppel

Stressed Out K – 12 Education Series 2.4

What’s Most Important?

Remember the case of Jeremy in Teacher’s Customer Service Connects Power Sources (1.1). I interviewed his teachers and paraprofessionals, the principal and main office staff, Jeremy and his big brother J.R. before getting to their grand father and ultimately setting specific goals to meet the student’s needs.

And if you go back and review Purpose Teaching | Clearly Defined Goals (2.2) you’ll see how workshop attendees discovered that for their case study “student nutritional needs” being met mad a stronger case for being the number one goal. In mock interviews we had to listen to the data and what it was saying about the community. We made student behavior observations and listened to what the family was saying about the business of learning in the hood, especially in this suffocating economy.

Goals You Make Happen

Think about it. The ‘S’ in SMART goal systems (2.3) stands for specific. Great success never follows vague ideas. Can you hear failure in this goal? “I will help all my students to succeed,” pretty broad goal, right? A more specific goal is written like this: I will create small teams of support groups with each student’s care takers to help monitor and reinforce my lessons and other instructions. By soliciting the help of others you reduce the personal stress of trying to be a super teacher by yourself.

One of the staple questions I’d ask my students each new marking period was, “What is the purpose of going to school?” My student’s almost always respond with, “To get an education – To get a job” – And an occasional, “To keep my parents happy.” Is it any wonder why students aren’t producing quality work? They aren’t clear on any specific academic goals.

Communicate specific goals to your students in your mission statement. Identify specific characteristics and personal values that carry enough weight to breathe life into your goals. Help your students understand the value of applying themselves to produce a quality education from the inside out. Help them set goals that produce highly intelligent highly paid problem solvers.

Goals Student Make Happen

Students that have specific goals no longer enter the classroom with blinders on. Listen to your students for details. For those with challenges of following the wrong crowd write goals like this: I will surround myself with people that are smarter than me and can hold me accountable to achieving my goals.

For those with challenges of starting/finishing homework write goals like this: I will keep all assignments in my organizer and begin working on them as soon as I get home and finish my snack.

For those with challenges of attendance write goals like this: I will miss no more than one day of school this marking period and I will complete all missed assignments immediately and put together a study group if needed.

For those with challenges of making the grade write goals like this: I will monitor my grades weekly and interview my teachers for understanding how to get the most out of his/her assignments. I will prepare for nothing less than an “A” grade and ask for extra credit because I’m worth it.

Please comment and share to my Asphalt Check Blog on your specific classroom goals and if at all possible share how adjusting those goals specifically made a difference in your classroom management.

This is a new series called Stressed Out K – 12 Education. Over the next several weeks we will explore classroom issues surrounding special needs, at-risk behaviors, student – teacher and teacher – parent relationships, and much more as it relates to reducing stress created from educational systems, narrow minded thinking of difficult colleagues, and the headaches of some one else’s undisciplined kids.

P.S. If you have been inspired from this article please consider leaving a comment and subscribing to the RSS feed (just below this article) to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Then encourage family and friends by sharing this blog address and invite others to subscribe so we get a chance to connect as well. Just send them to https://laroncarter.wordpress.com where they can bookmark or subscribe to the page. Feel free to direct message me on Twitter @laroncarter or connect on http://laroncarter.com.

Copyright © 2009 | LaRon A. Carter “The Guest Teacher

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

