Home > Love Relationships, Weekend Post > Valentine Day Gone Wrong

Valentine Day Gone Wrong

Photo Credit by Saturated Simplicity Photography

Photo Credit by Saturated Simplicity Photography

“Our minds have unbelievable power over our bodies.” André Maurois

I Feel Your Pain My Sister

Wives pray for your husbands, “The Jerk,” while praying for your marriage this Valentine’s Day.

I don’t know how you feel about prayer. You could be the type that can’t leave home without it. You could be the type that cares less because it never works for you. You could be like I use to be only praying when I needed to get out of a jam or better yet, get what I wanted. And then after praying for divine wisdom and prosperity I’d get up off of my knees and take matters back into my own hands. What a screw up?

But if you feel your marriage isn’t perfect in respect to how you were treated on Valentine Day, consider praying for your husband instead of trying to change him.

I know he totally blew this Valentine Day’s showcase of love. He didn’t prepare for that romantic encounter you desired and it showed.

Shoe Fit?

Maybe you are at wits end over his hygiene habits on top of it.

Do you have a husband that is obsessed with buying toys or maybe he gambled the day away?

Has he had an extended bout with unemployment?

Do you have an ever-growing list of things to do, places to go, and people to see that your budget and your husband won’t allow?

Won’t he listen to you?

Do you find yourself not being able to trust him anymore? Or are you losing faith in the man you married to live up to all you expected him to become?

Doesn’t he hear you screaming for attention?

You no longer believe in him or the process of growing a happy and successful family with this guy any more.

Pump your brakes, partner. The red lights are flashing and sirens are screeching ear to ear. Not because of your reasoning, it’s valid. He is a jerk. But allowing doubt and disbelief to run loose will seek out, kill, and destroy your relationship.

Think Doubt and Fail

The Magic of Thinking Big author Dr. Schwartz writes, “Disbelief is negative power. When the mind disbelieves or doubts, the mind attracts ‘reasons’ to support the disbelief. Doubt, disbelief, the subconscious will to fail, the not really wanting to succeed, is responsible for most failures. Think doubt and fail. Think victory and succeed.” If this is your situation you probably are thinking of ways to get out of your marriage and of course your doubt about its future is attracting all sorts of reason to support your disbelief in him. You may have chosen to stay, but behave as if you were no longer there, no longer committed to your vows. Do you feel as if breaking the covenant is the way to healing your broken heart? I genuinely feel your pain my sister. Really I do.

Think Victory and Succeed

Break those marriage vows back out and take your attention off of him. Return your focus on him’s creator. One of the best ways to be a Good to Great helpmate during these challenging times is to pray for your husband. Yep, he’s a jerk, I agree. You know it and his momma knows it. Consider the high road on this journey. Pray for God to have mercy on him for his illmatic behaviors. Pray for his mental stability to ride out life’s storms. Pray for his favor with man ( and you ;-D ). Pray for God to bring people into his life that will help to resurrect the pillars of his heart.

Heck Just Pray With Me

“Lord thank you for giving me the ability to ride out the wrath of this storm. You have shown me time over time it is my faith in you that brings peace and victory to every situation. I realize you have called me to do things bigger than I am able to carry out. So I trust in your love for me to keep and protect my husband as you work out in me that, which is not good for us. You made a covenant with my husband to have dominion over the works of his hands.

Thank you for revealing to him his responsibility to provide and protect us. Thank you for making us fruitful and multiplying our prosperity. Thank you for empowering him with skill sets to use valuable resources efficiently. Thank you for helping him to grow wisdom through this prayer. I believe in you God to give me patience while my husband transforms into the man you created him to be. We are undeniable recipients of heaven here on earth. Our fruit will unquestionably mark our quality and merit among those who see us operating as one powerful force to be reckoned with.”

My prayers are with you my sister and my friend. Amen.

You know who loves you Baby!

If there is someone in your family or a friend who needs to hear this word encourage them by sharing this blog address and invite others to subscribe so we get a chance to connect as well. Just send them to https://laroncarter.wordpress.com where they can bookmark or subscribe to the page. Feel free to direct message me on Twitter @laroncarter or connect on http://laroncarter.com.

Copyright © 2009 | LaRon A. Carter “The Guest Teacher

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment